Loading Events
This event has passed.

Asian Americans Advancing Justice and the American Library Association are hosting the 15th installment of their monthly census webinar series this month.

Please join us for our Webinar on Questionnaire Assistance Centers and Libraries on Thursday, February 27 at 4PM ET / 3PM CT/ 2PM MT / 1PM PT / 11AM HT. This webinar will focus on how libraries will play a crucial role as Questionnaire Assistance Centers during 2020 Census operations and the self-response phase. The webinar is recorded, and a recording and the presentation will be shared following the webinar. If you cannot join the live webinar, you can still RSVP to receive the recording afterwards.

Speakers:

An Le is the 2020 Census Statewide Network Manager with the Voting Rights and Census program at Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Asian Law Caucus. She had the privilege to work as a legal organizer for the Koreatown Immigrant Workers Alliance, a research analyst for SEIU-United Service Workers West and United Healthcare Workers West, and a project director of community engagement at Asian Americans Advancing Justice-Los Angeles. An received her B.A. in Political Science from UCLA and her J.D. from Loyola Law School of Los Angeles.

Dr. Ana Ndumu is the Assistant Professor at the University of Maryland College of Information Studies, is a champion of social justice. She comes to the college with over 13 years of academic library and college instruction experience. Seeking to understand the cross between social identity and information behavior, her research examines the ways in which cultural perceptions are shaped (often erroneously) by available information, but can be transformed through better information access. Dr. Ndumu specializes in the intersection of Black identity, libraries, demography, and social inclusion. Her recent work explores the information worlds of African, Afro-Caribbean, and Afro-Latinx immigrants living in the U.S. Dr. Ndumu received her PhD in Information at the Florida State University School of Information.

Go to Top